Register for your free account! | Forgot your password?

You last visited: Today at 04:56

• Please register to post and access all features, it's quick, easy and FREE!

Advertisement

WoW pServer Basics

Discussion on WoW pServer Basics within the WoW Private Server forum part of the World of Warcraft category.

Old   #1

elite*gold: 0
Found this:

This is my first attempt at a guide so give me a break

1. WoW Server Emulation basics

First and foremost, playing on a simulated WoW server aka emulated server, is not illegal. They are howerver, illegal to own and run. So I won't go into how to start up a server. I don't know. I also won't pretend I know exactly how the whole process works, just how to get you, the player, involved and playing some free WoW!

The benifits of playing these servers are numerous. But there are cons.

Pros

1. Free- Free is always good, right?

2. XP - there are many different servers who use different xp rates. I have played on some that use 200x experience point rate. I use these servers to try new templates and race/class combos I would normally be interested in, but do not feel like grinding for two weeks to find out a class or race sucks.

3. Server populations- Some servers have a few hundred people who play on a regular basis. So if you like close RP or you just don't want to deal with all the L337 13 year olds on the Blizz server, there are servers out there for you. Makes it easier to get your friends together on a server and run a raid or kill an elite mob without a whole lot of competition.

4. Special items- Some servers start you out with items that sell for one gold, to help you start out. Many also give you the collectors edition pets, so you can know what that is like without having to hunt down a copy on Ebay.

5. Quantity - After doing some research I found so many WoW servers that I had to change my mind about making a list of popular ones. Instead, later I will give a link to a server status page.