Register for your free account! | Forgot your password?

Go Back   elitepvpers > Popular Games > Silkroad Online
You last visited: Today at 12:24

• Please register to post and access all features, it's quick, easy and FREE!

Advertisement

Which scripting language?

Discussion on Which scripting language? within the Silkroad Online forum part of the Popular Games category.

Old   #1

elite*gold: 0
Which scripting language?

Hi all!

I would like to know which scripting language would be th ebest for scripting tool (or even a bot) for SRO (or other games).
pls count some pro/cons because i am not really sure which one to choose:

visual basic, c/c++, C#, any other .net language or something else like autoit....

only serious answers pls

and btw: in which language are current bots written in (sbot, sroking, agbot,...) doeas any1 know?
Old 08/18/2009, 00:21   #2

elite*gold: 20
I guess C++ can get the job done... But i'm not an expert. Autoit just sucks to make bots... It's barely impossible lol
Old 08/18/2009, 01:03   #3

elite*gold: 20
Received Thanks: 2,990
You're not looking for a scripting language,you're looking for either unmanaged or managed language that would do the job you're asking for.To answer your question best,it doesn't really matter what language you use,it matters the way you use it.
Your goal is to NOT look at other competitors,instead adding cutting-edge features that lack in their projects makes your project different and therefore(if stable) the best competitor.

An advice is to use up-to-date languages that contain most known new features ,which makes your future as programmer better.Some of them are:

-Generics(templates)
-Regular Expressions
-LINQ
-Lambda expressions
-Iterators
-Anonymous types and methods.

Edit:Use Object Orientated languages.
Thanks
1 User
Old 08/18/2009, 01:23   #4

elite*gold: 260
Received Thanks: 3,751