Register for your free account! | Forgot your password?

Go Back   elitepvpers > MMORPGs > Guild Wars 2
You last visited: Today at 07:19

• Please register to post and access all features, it's quick, easy and FREE!

Advertisement

Started Reverse Engineer GW2 and need some advice

Discussion on Started Reverse Engineer GW2 and need some advice within the Guild Wars 2 forum part of the MMORPGs category.

Old   #1

elite*gold: 0
Lightbulb Started Reverse Engineer GW2 and need some advice

Hey guys,

I recently started to reverse engineer gw2 myself. But I am a bit stuck and I was hoping for some advice I first want to tell you what I found out and I was hoping you guys could correct me if I got something wrong. If you could give me some tips in what direction I shall looking more into, I would highly appreciate it. Also I am kind of new to all this (coming from a developer standpoint), so I also would love to know more tools, plugins, features, ... I should have a look at

So let me get started.

assert() function

Most of the strings in the binary are part of an “assert()” function with some debug information. This is a gret source to figure out certain passed parameters/variables as well as in what file this function was defined. My question is, most of those functions are probably class methods. Can I most of the time assume that the first parameter (probably on the stack) is the this pointer to the object this method belongs to? If so, how can I get from there to the corresponding vtable?

RTTI and vtables

I found an old gw2 beta torrent where the gw2.exe was still compiled with RTTI. On OpenRCE I found a “ClassInformer” (
) plugin to gather the RTTI and vtable information.