Register for your free account! | Forgot your password?

You last visited: Today at 23:12

• Please register to post and access all features, it's quick, easy and FREE!

Advertisement

Where do I start?

Discussion on Where do I start? within the Private Server forum part of the General Gaming Discussion category.

Old   #1

elite*gold: 0
Where do I start?

Hello!..

Firstly, I just want to state, I am by no means asking anyone to do any work for me

I have some knowledge of programming languages and communications over a network, I made my own MSN Messenger client about 5 years ago.. fantastic, I know.. no it's not really but I just wanna let ya's know I'm not a complete doofus when it comes to PC's and network communication..

Look. I love Angels Online. Unfortunately, not many other people who love Angels Online know much about computers.. I speak to my fellow gamers sometimes and get the impression that their computer knowledge ends at logging onto the game.

I would love to make a private server, or at least aid in the development of one overall. I just.. I have absolutely no idea how to do it. I saw someone posted about 6 months ago that they had learnt how to edit to client to connect to a different IP, but to me I think that's a small step in a much broader picture.

So really, I want to know what the broader picture is. Nothing specific, just generally, because after some Googling I cannot really find any information on how one would go about creating a private server.

Is it possible I just do not have the know-how to even attempt this?

I understand that this would be a very large project; however I am recently unemployed and am a student so I do have ample free time.

Would an emulator need to be created?